Friday, December 21, 2012

Mayan What? Apocalypse 2012 Quiet So Far

 
With rumors of a Mayan apocalypse making the rounds online and at the water cooler, when do we know the world is out of danger from the various astronomical and other cataclysms claimed by some to spell doom?

Some have pegged the end on 12/21/12 at the moment of the winter solstice, which at one point had been estimated by the U.S. Naval Observatory to take place at 11:11 UTC, or 6:11 a.m. EST. The Northern Hemisphere's winter solstice, when the top half of the planet (everything north of the equator) will face away from the sun, actually occured at 11:12 UTC, or 6:12 a.m. EST. Either way, the moment has ticked by, and the world is still here.

Today does mark an end, to the 13th 144,000-day cycle (called a b'ak'tun) of the ancient Mayan Long Count Calendar. The least worried about this rumored doomsday date? The Mayas.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...