Friday, May 3, 2013

Solar-Powered Plane Set to Begin Historic Cross-Country Flight Friday

   

A solar-powered airplane is poised to depart on a historic coast-to-coast flight across the United States Friday (May 3), in a bold attempt to fly across the country without using a single drop of fuel.

The Swiss-made plane, called Solar Impulse, will depart San Francisco, Calif., Friday morning at 9:00 a.m. EDT (6:00 a.m. PDT) for Phoenix, Ariz., on the first leg of its cross-country journey. The plane is expected to fly at a cruising altitude of 21,000 feet (6,400 meters), and will touch down at Phoenix's Sky Harbor airport on Saturday (May 4) at 4:00 a.m. EDT (1:00 a.m. PDT).

While the details of Friday's flight have been planned, local weather conditions may postpone the take-off or alter the plane's route, company officials said. 

Solar Impulse founders Bertrand Piccard and André Borschberg will altern

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...